SSMS – How to turn off “Prevent saving changes that require table to be re-created”

Problem

You’re trying to save a table change in SSMS and you get the error message:

Saving changes is not permitted. The changes that you have made require the following tables to be dropped and re-created. You have either made changes to a table that can’t be re-created or enabled the option Prevent saving changes that require the table to be re-created.

I’m trying to modify a table in a dev environment (and this table doesn’t even have data). So this “prevent saving changes” setting is a nuisance, and it makes sense to turn it off.

Solution

  1. Tools
  2. Designers > Table and Database Designers
  3. Uncheck Prevent saving changes that require table re-creation
  4. Click OK
SSMS - tools > Designers > Tables and Database Designers > uncheck Prevent saving changes that require table re-creation

Leave a Comment